C2P2 2023 application is coming soon. Back to main C2P2 page

Competence and Confidence: Partners in Policymaking—C2P2 2023

Learn to work with policymakers to make a difference in the quality of life for people with intellectual disabilities and/or on the autism spectrum.

C2P2 is a free program for:

  • Family members of a school-age child in Pennsylvania with an intellectual disability and/or on the autism spectrum;
  • Pennsylvanians with an intellectual disability and/or on the autism spectrum.

Become a leader in your community.

Diverse group of people together in a conference room

2023 Session Dates

Sessions will take place January through September, 2023.

Session One: In-Person

  • Friday January 20, 2023
    1:00 pm - 8:00 pm

  • Saturday January 21, 2023
    9:00 am - 3:00 pm

Session Two: Virtual

  • Friday, February 10, 2023
    1:00 pm - 6:30 pm

  • Saturday, February 11, 2023
    9:00 am - 2:00 am

  • Wednesday, February 22, 2023
    7:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Session Three: Virtual

  • Friday, March 10, 2023
    1:00 pm - 6:30 pm

  • Saturday, March 11, 2023
    9:00 am - 2:00 pm

  • Wednesday, March 29, 2023
    7:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Session Four: In-Person

  • Friday, April 21, 2023
    1:00 pm - 8:00 pm

  • Saturday, April 22, 2023
    9:00 am - 3:00 pm

Session Five: Virtual

  • Friday, May 19, 2023
    1:00 am - 6:30 pm

  • Saturday, May 20, 2023
    9:00 am - 2:00 pm

  • Wednesday, May 31, 2023
    7:00 am - 9:00 pm

Session Six: In-Person Legislative Visit

Dates are subject to change based on legislative sessions at Capitol Building.

  • Friday, June 16, 2023
    1:00 pm - 8:00 pm

  • Saturday, June 17, 2023
    9:00 am - 3:00 pm

Session Seven: Virtual

  • Friday, July 14, 2023
    1:00 pm - 6:30 pm

  • Saturday, July 15, 2023
    9:00 am - 2:00 pm

  • Wednesday, July 26, 2023
    7:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Session Eight: In-Person Graduation

  • Friday, September 22, 2023
    1:00 pm - 8:00 pm

  • Saturday, September 23, 2023
    9:00 am - 3:00 pm

 

In-Person Location

Harrisburg, PA. Details to be announced.

 

Participants Will Learn

  • About local, state and national issues affecting people with disabilities;
  • To foster a partnership between people who need supports and services and those who make policy and law;
  • To advocate for themselves and others;
  • To teach policymakers a new way of thinking about people with disabilities.

 

Topics

  • History of the Self-Advocacy and Independent Living Movement
  • History of the Family Movement
  • Visioning for a Preferred Future
  • Best Practices in:
    • Early Intervention
    • Inclusive Education
    • Transition
    • Employment
    • Community Inclusion
  • Federal, State and Local Laws and Regulations
  • How to effectively educate Legislators
  • How to run a meeting
  • How to serve on a Board of Directors
  • Effective Communication
  • Conflict resolution
  • Assistive Technology
  • Waivers
  • Community of Practice in Supporting Families and in Employment
  • Community Engagement
  • Community Organizing and Resource Development

 

Requirements

  • Applicants MUST commit to attending both sessions, all eight weekends.
  • Attendees must review all materials before and after each session.
  • Homework will be assigned and must be completed.
  • Social distancing and masking for in-person activities are strongly encouraged and may be required by the funder, venue, or other rules.

 

More Information

C2P2 is free but only a limited number of applications will be accepted.

Funded by Pennsylvania's Office of Developmental Programs.

Contact Us

Email: iod@temple.edu
Voice: 215-204-1356