Institute on Disabilities at Temple University


EDUCATION

Temple University's Interdisciplinary Faculty Council on Disability

Mission


The mission of the Interdisciplinary Faculty Council on Disability (IFC) is to foster collaboration across Temple University on disability-related projects including research, teaching, programming, publication, and grant-seeking. By connecting with one another, Council members help build community among the growing number of people at Temple whose work engages with disability.

The Council consists of approximately 30 faculty and staff from 17 programs and nine Colleges and Centers across the University, including the College of Education, Institute on Disabilities, College of Liberal Arts, Tyler School of Art, College of Health Professions and Social Work, School of Media and Communication, School of Medicine, Division of Theater, Film and Media Arts, and Disability Resources and Services.


Members


Kristin Berg, Ph.D.

klberg@temple.edu
Department of Rehabilitation Sciences
College of Public Health
Areas of interest: violence, social exclusion, social disparities, community based interventions

James P. Byrnes, Ph.D.

jpbyrnes@shrine.edu
Associate Dean for Research & Professor of Educational Psychology
Psychological, Organizational, & Leadership Studies, College of Education
Areas of interest: models of academic achievement, decision-making and risk-taking, gender and ethnic differences in achievement

Joseph R. Boyle, Ph.D.

Joseph.boyle@temple.edu
Associate Professor, Special Education
Psychological, Organizational, & Leadership Studies
College of Education
Areas of interest: teaching students with learning disabilities; interventions in note-taking, reading, and writing

Ann Elizabeth Dolloff, M.Ed., CTRS

ann.dolloff@temple.edu
Department of Rehabilitation Sciences
College of Public Health
Areas of interest: Community integration, adapted recreation, youth development, assistive technology, disability culture

Jeffrey Draine, Ph.D.

jetpak@temple.edu
School of Social Work
College of Public Health
Areas of interest: rehabilitation, empowerment and recovery-oriented services, the criminal justice system, behavioral health

Sarah Drury, M.P.S.

sdrury@temple.edu
Department of Film and Media Arts
Center for the Arts
Areas of interest: video/sound installation, performance, sensing technologies, narrative, play

Celia S. Feinstein, M.A.

celia.feinstein@temple.edu
Co-Executive Director, Institute on Disabilities
College of Education
Areas of interest: intellectual/developmental disability, self-advocacy and leadership for families and individuals, program evaluation of family support services

Kate Fialkowski, M.T.S.

kate.fialkowski@temple.edu
Director of Academic Programs, Institute on Disabilities
College of Education
Areas of interest: anthropology and disability, exploring autonomy in situations of dependence in human/machine human/human dependence and differences due to physical and/or intellectual disability, ethics in supported and surrogate decision making.

Beverly Frantz, Ph.D.

beverly.frantz@temple.edu
Criminal Justice Project Director
Institute on Disabilities, College of Education
Areas of interest: criminal justice, sexuality, curriculum development

Shana Hornstein, Ph.D., BCBA-D

shana.hornstein@temple.edu
Institute on Disabilities and Deptartment of Special Education
College of Education
Areas of interest: special education, psychological, organizational and leadership studies

Lisa Kay, Ed.D.

lisakay@temple.edu
Art Education, Tyler School of Art
Center for the Arts
Areas of interest: art education, art therapy, narrative storytelling, resilience, art making and adolescent girls who have experienced trauma, arts-based research methods

Julie B. Kessler, Ph.D.

jkessler@temple.edu
Assistant Professor Teaching/Instruction
Psychological, Organizational, & Leadership Studies, College of Education
Areas of interest: best practices in inclusive education, organizational change in urban settings, university and school partnerships, teacher preparation

Richard Lauer, Ph.D.

rich.lauer@temple.edu
Department of Physical Therapy
College of Public Health
Areas of interest: adults and children with cerebral palsy, balance and posture, locomotor adaptation, somatosensory feedback

Beth Levine, M.S., CCC-SLP

beth.levine@temple.edu
Communication Sciences and Disorders
College of Public Health
Areas of interest: clinical education and services, speech and language pathology

Joshua Lukin, Ph.D.

joshua.lukin@temple.edu
First Year Writing Program, Department of English
College of Liberal Arts
Areas of interest: disability studies, U.S. fiction since 1945, social issues in literature

Wendy Magee, Ph.D.

wmagee@temple.edu
Music Therapy
Boyer College of Music and Dance
Center for the Arts
Areas of interest: music therapy practice in neurology and rehabilitation, treatment methods and measurement tools, assistive technologies for music-making, queer identity

Wendy Osterweil, M.F.A.

www.wendyosterweil.com
Art Education, Tyler School of Art
Center for the Arts
Areas of interest: community arts, printmaking, fiber art

Mark Salzer, Ph.D.

mark.salzer@temple.edu
Chair, Department of Rehabilitation Sciences
College of Public Health
Areas of interest: psychiatric disabilities, community inclusion, community mental health and rehabilitation services

Jeremy Schipper, Ph.D.

schipper@temple.edu
Associate Professor of Hebrew Bible
Department of Religion, College of Liberal Arts
Areas of interest: the Hebrew Bible, biblical narrative, disability in biblical and related ancient Near Eastern texts

Gerald Silk, Ph.D.

gsilk@temple.edu
Art History, Tyler School of Art
Center for the Arts
Areas of interest: modern and contemporary art, censorship, portraiture, Italian modernism, the Sixties, technological iconography

Michael W. Smith, Ph.D.

mwsmith@temple.edu
Associate Dean, Graduate Programs and Faculty Affairs
Office of the Dean, College of Education
Areas of interest: teaching and learning literature and composition, adolescents' in and out of school literacies, boys and school achievement

Aaron Spector, M.Ed.

spectora@temple.edu
Director, Disability Resources and Services
Division of Student Affairs
Areas of interest: cultures of inclusion for students with diverse abilities, direct support, University-wide accessibility

Gretchen Snethen, Ph.D., CTRS

gsnethen@temple.edu
Department of Rehabilitation Sciences
College of Public Health
Areas of interest: adults with schizophrenia, physical activity, community participation, barriers to participation

Matt Tincani, Ph.D.

tincani@temple.edu
Associate Professor, Special Education and Applied Behavior Analysis Programs
Psychological, Organizational, & Leadership Studies, College of Education
Areas of interest: learners with autism spectrum disorder, applied behavior analysis, positive behavior support

S. Kenneth Thurman, Ph.D.

kenneth.thurman@temple.edu
Professor of Special Education
Psychological, Organizational, & Leadership Studies
College of Education
Areas of interest: early Intervention, families, ecological models of service delivery, infant and preschool development, spirituality

Betsy Leebron Tutelman, Ph.D.

betsy.tutelman@temple.edu
Senior Vice Provost for Strategic Communications
Professor of Media Studies and Production,
School of Media and Communications
Areas of interest: campus-wide initiatives and leadership, entrepreneurship

Shannon Walters, Ph.D.

shannon.walters@temple.edu
Department of English
College of Liberal Arts
Areas of interest: rhetoric and composition, disability studies, women's studies, science and technology, critical animal studies, graphic narrative

Kimmika William-Witherspoon, Ph.D.

kimmika.williams-witherspoon@temple.edu
Associate Professor | Theater Studies | Playwriting
Deptartment of Theater, Center for the Arts
Areas of interest: playwriting, spoken word, anthropology, African-American theater



Programs


2017

Disability and Change IV: Representation in the Arts and Media
March 2017
Symposium overview, schedule, and speakers


2016

Disability and Change III: Meaningful Life, Multiple Roles
March 2016
Symposium overview, schedule, and speakers


2014-2015

Disability and Change: Fault Lines, Intersections & Action
March 2015
Symposium overview, schedule, and speakers


2013-2014

Two hands-on Workshops
with Philadelphia Theatre of the Oppressed
on "Disability and Change"
March 2014
Center for the Humanities
Main Campus, Temple University, Philadelphia

These two hands-on Saturday workshops explored the ideas of transition, dis/ability, and change through theater games and storytelling exercises based in the Theatre of the Oppressed tradition first developed by Brazilian theater director and popular educator Augusto Boal.

For more about Philadelphia Theatre of the Oppressed and the T.O. method: http://tophiladelphia.blogspot.com/





Institute on Disabilities at Temple University
University Center for Excellence in Developmental Disabilities Education, Research and Service